h1

MacPlace reaching out internationally

Wednesday 13 February, 2008

Kathy Bergen wrote this short article in the Chicago Tribune “City expands its marketing web.” Well it’s about time. The Chicago Convention & Tourism Bureau, the organization which is responsible for booking trade shows @ McCormick Place & Navy Pier, will be sending representatives abroad to hustle up business for trade shows in Chicago. Imagine that. I just assumed this was being done all along, but I guess I assume too much.

My impression is trade shows are dying a slow death, faster in technology industries. People can get information much quicker & easier online. Trade shows can be good places to initiate & maintain personal relationships, but people are getting more comfortable in the digital world, so I’m not sure how much this will expand their business.

Alternatively, I think trade shows are still more important in the Old World, or at least other countries where local cultural norms dictate that personal relationships are still the best way to facilitate business. I question the focus on RIC-Russia, India, & China. Costs of exhibiting & attending will be harder to bear for companies from these poor countries. I’d look more towards the developed world which won’t quibble over Western costs of doing business. I don’t see any foreign language content on their website yet-maybe that will be coming soon.

One comment

  1. I agree with your statement about trade shows dying off, especially in the tech sector. Comdex was the first sign of that years ago. E3 the video gaming show was cut back 2 years ago.

    I am not even so sure you are correct about the cultural norms requiring more personal contact. Yes I do agree that some countries depend on more personal interaction to do business, but I think that is changing.

    I have been using http://importexport.konnects.com to find importing contacts in some of the less technologically advanced countries.

    Trade shows will disappear in the US in the next 50 years as more business moves online. International business will move online as well.



Leave a Reply

