h1

US-China CEO matchmaking networking mixer

Monday 24 August, 2009

I checked out this US-China CEO matchmaking networking mixer hosted by MeetChinaBiz Here is Shawn He Yuxun’s presentation:  MCBC09s & here’s the presentation made by George Mui of the Minority Business Development Agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce Access to Global Economy China_final_8_13_2009 Unbeknownst to me, there was a program delivered earlier in the morning before I arrived in the afternoon, so I missed most of this content.  Normally I’d add my contribution, but soon after I arrived the networking portion of this event commenced.  There were tables set around the perimeter of the room where Chinese visitors would sit while local potential partners would rotate among them every 15 minutes. For the record, I do think it’s good that the US government is supporting minority businesses pursuing these kinds of opportunities.  On the other hand, it appeared as if there would be lots of visitors from China, but many were actually local representatives of Chinese companies.  I spoke with a few people who were disappointed they were forced to deal with an intermediary when they were under the impression they would be meeting Chinese businesspeople directly.

Leave a Reply

