h1

demonstrations in LDC’s

Monday 1 May, 2017

I had my 1st “international incident” experience Friday night, & it left a deep impression. I was locked up in the consulate & forbidden to leave because it was too dangerous for me to go home. After finally finding my way home, I realized our security people were not kidding-this was serious, & they were correct for not allowing me out in it.

What happened was, the PT, or Workers Party (Partida dos Trabalhadores) planned a general strike on Friday to protest the imposition of 2 new laws: 1 to OK the outsourcing of work that had not been allowed in the past that will give Brazilian businesses the flexibility to contract out even core activities of their businesses, if they so choose, which was forbidden in the past; & 2. to change to the terms of the pension/social security system to eliminate benefits for some retirees, which are simply financially unsustainable. For example, judges, the military, & other public officials are given pensions covering up to 80% of their wages that can be transferred to remaining spouses and handed down to descendants for generations, which will end up costing the Brazilian government money that it can’t afford to pay in the future.

As I was sitting in my office @ ~5:30 p.m. surveying the evening’s musical choices, 1 of the marines came in & told me to check with their guard station before I leave. I thought that a little odd because I was never told to do that before. When I went to leave @ 6, I was summarily told that I was not allowed to leave, that it was too dangerous for me to leave the building @ that time. They showed me the footage from 1 of the security cameras that displayed some tires that had been set on fire outside the consulate. I returned to my office thinking, “These guys are paranoid.” I had walked past some demonstrations around Cinelandia in the past, & they were no threat to me, or anyone, as far as I could tell. I assumed this 1 would be no different. In the next hour I could smell the stench of the burning tires and heard what sounded like small bombs going off. When I returned to try to leave @ 7, I was told it still wasn’t safe enough to go out, so I went back to my office for another hour. I tried to leave again @ 8, but was still told “No go.” Then @ 8:15, they made an announcement that we were free to go.

What I encountered outside the consulate’s door was breathtaking. The windows to the banks Bradesco & Caixa had been smashed, & I’m told thieves had tried to steal the cash from the ATM’s. The metro stop @ Cinelandia was closed, so I had to walk to the next station @ Gloria, about a 20 minute walk away. As I approached Sala Cecilia Morrelles, a nice venue where I’d seen a number of concerts, I came across 9 burned out buses which had been set on fire. Walking a little bit further down the street, a few trucks filled with military police drove by, guns @ the ready, prepared to aim & shoot. When I finally got the Gloria station, my eyes started burning & I couldn’t breath because of tear gas that remained in the air. I realize it sounds trite to say “Tear gas is nasty stuff,” but you can’t realize how nasty it is until you experience it. Like when I visited the concentration camps when I was in Poland 20 years ago, it’s the smell that leaves as deep an impression on any of the senses…it’s inescapable.

Lesson learned: when the security guys say “sit tight” listen to them.  While they may seem overly protective at times, they know the risks & are only looking out for our own safety.

For more details check here http://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-america-39753849

Leave a Reply

