## Definitions

The Greater Pearl River Delta region includes the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, the Macao Special Administrative Region, and the Pearl River Delta Economic Zone portion of Guangdong Province. While the boundaries of Hong Kong and Macao are clear, some analysts use data for the whole of Guangdong Province to represent the 'Pearl River Delta' instead of the proper definition of the 'Pearl River Delta Economic Zone' set forth by Guangdong Province in 1994. This Zone is officially defined as covering Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai, Foshan, Jiangmen, Dongguan, Zhongshan, parts of Huizhou (the urban district of Huizhou, Huidong County, and Boluo County), and parts of Zhaoqing (the urban district of Zhaoqing, Gaoyao, and Sihui).<sup>8</sup> This definition corresponds to the dark area of the map below. It should be noted that some of the statistics available for the 'Pearl River Delta Economic Zone', even from Guangdong Province itself, do not correspond to the precise definition of the region.

**Definitions** The Facts and Figures

## **Economic Zone** Shaoguan Meizhou Qingyuan Chaozhou Heyuan Jieyang • Shantou Zhaoqing Guangzhou Huizhou Yunfu 🛛 Foshan Dongguan Jiangmen Zhongshan Shenzhen Shanwei Zhuhai Hong Kong Macao 3 Yangjiang Maoming 12 Zhanjiang

Guangdong Province and the Pearl River Delta Economic Zone

Main Jurisdictions in the Greater Pearl River Delta Region



22

The Pearl River Delta Economic Zone often is compared with the Yangtze River Delta region. However, the typical comparisons use a definition of the 'Yangtze River Delta region' that is far too broad. In 1992, local governments set up the Yangtze River Delta Cities Economic Co-ordination Association. At the time, 14 cities were designated as part of the 'Yangtze River Delta region', a number that was increased to 15 in 1997 and 16 in 2003. However, statistics are not usually compiled according to the official definition of the Yangtze River Delta region. As a result, many analysts take the 'Yangtze River Delta region' to include Shanghai plus all of the provinces of Jiangsu and Zhejiang. This is clearly inappropriate in that it includes an area far wider than the Delta, and in fact far wider than a compact economic region. We have used the definition of the 'Yangtze River Delta Economic Zone' as officially expanded in August 2003, which covers 16 cities, including Shanghai municipality; the Jiangsu Province cities of Nanjing, Zhenjiang, Yangzhou, Suzhou, Wuxi, Changzhou, Nantong, and Taizhou; and the Zhejiang Province cities of Hangzhou, Jiaxing, Huzhou, Ningbo, Shaoxing, Zhoushan, and Taizhou.<sup>9</sup> This corresponds to the area in orange on the map below.

<sup>9</sup> Taizhou in Zhejiang Province was added to the definition of the Yangtze River Delta Economic Zone in August 2003. In 2005, Taizhou had a GDP of US\$15.23 billion and a population of 5.6 million.



## The Yangtze River Delta Region